Certification is valid for five (5) years, at which time the manager must be re-examined to remain certified.
Florida Statute Chapter 509.039 requires that all managers in a public food service establishment receive their food manager certification. Establishments employing more than four or more persons who are engaged in the preparation, storage, or service of food to the public must have at least one certified professional food manager on duty at all times.
Managers have 30 days from their employment date to become certified.
Yes, the certification is person-specific and is valid until it expires five (5) years from its issuance.
In the unlikely event that you do not successfully pass the exam on your first attempt, your retest is FREE! You pay only for your exam code ($36) and nothing more if you retest on the same day. A waiting period of 60 days is required should a second retake be necessary. No more then 4 attempts are permitted within a 12 month period.
Florida requires all food service employees in a licensed DBPR establishment to be trained on correct food handling and hygiene practices. SafeStaff is a DBPR-approved training program and meets the state requirements of the State of Florida. For more information on the requirements and to purchase the required materials please call SafeStaff at (866) 901-7778.
Yes. Once you become a certified food manager, you are qualified to certify your foodhandlers (servers, bussers, dishwashers, cooks, etc.) . For more information on the requirements and to purchase the required materials please call SafeStaff at (866) 901-7778. You are not permitted to make or use photocopied certificates, therefore, you are required to purchase one original workbook for each employee. Each workbook contains a certificate and wallet card.
A proctor that has been approved and certified by ServSafe is required to be present during the exam process to protect the integrity and security of the state-required exam. You will be required to provide the proctor with your photo-ID to prove your identity.
Responsible alcohol training is not mandated by the state of Florida, however, many Florida Insurance companies now require mandatory training in order to provide liquor liability insurance. In the event of a liquor license violation, The state of Florida offers mitigating benefits to those who have participated in a Responsible Alcohol Training program. Participating in such training protects your alcohol license from suspension and revocation.